FAIR Institute Blog

Honoring Excellence in Information and Operational Risk Management: Submit Your Nominations for the 2020 FAIR Awards!

[fa icon="calendar"] Jul 8, 2020 7:30:00 AM / by Luke Bader

Luke Bader

FAIR Awards by FAIR Institute for Excellence in Risk ManagementThe 2020 FAIR Conference (FAIRCON2020), the premiere global conference for quantitative risk management, will be held digitally on October 6 & 7 (Tues. and Wed.). FAIRCON2020 will provide groundbreaking keynote addresses, engaging C-suite panels, and expert case study sessions through a cutting edge virtual event platform.

Hosted by the FAIR Institute and supported by our partners, FAIRCON2020 will bring world-class thought-leaders in information and operational risk management to you to explore the best FAIR practices, progress and learning. This year’s theme is "Factoring Risk in Decision Making" and the sessions will showcase Global 2000 companies and U.S Federal Government Agencies highlighting their breakthrough work in business-aligned communication, cost-effective decision-making and, ultimately, managing what matters.

Presentation of the FAIR Awards is a highlight of the annual conference. The awards recognize the deep impact that the honorees have on their organizations by enabling operational excellence and effective decision-making, and in balancing the need to protect their organizations while running the business. All of the winners and nominees of the awards are reflective of the importance of the FAIR Institute's mission in advancing the risk management profession and are individuals who are at the forefront of the quantitative risk management revolution. 

Three Award Categories

You can submit your nominations for three categories, Business InnovatorFAIR Champion, and FAIR Ambassador to recognize business-minded risk officers and FAIR practitioners respectively.

  • The Business Innovator Award recognizes risk officers disrupting the status quo by leveraging new analytic capabilities and by enabling the communication and management of information and operational risk from the business perspective. The Business Innovator award particularly recognizes those risk professionals who have successfully applied FAIR principles to drive innovation.
  • The FAIR Champion Award recognizes leaders at the forefront of their organization’s FAIR initiative, who built risk quantification programs and in that process got data owners on board, stakeholders to help improve analysis, and decision-makers to adopt the resulting analytics as an integral part of their strategies, decision-making processes and operating rhythms.
  • The FAIR Ambassador Award recognizes a specific member’s work in bringing FAIR and the FAIR Institute to a new part of the world. The winner of this award is an individual who has helped spread the knowledge of FAIR into a new city, state, country, or continent, at both governmental and enterprise level.

Previous Award Winners


Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 4.36.27 PM

FAIR Business Innovator:

Ian Amit, CSO, Cimpress

Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 4.36.34 PM

FAIR Champion:

Sharon Mudd, Risk Manager, Pearson Education

Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 4.36.41 PM

FAIR Ambassador:

Osama Salah, UAE Dept. of Finance, Chair, Abu Dhabi Chapter



Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 5.08.36 PM

FAIR Business Innovator:

Omar Khawaja, CISO, Highmark Health

Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 5.11.14 PM

FAIR Champion:

Jack Freund, Director, Cyber Risk, TIAA

Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 5.12.43 PM

FAIR Ambassador:

Jason Ha, Director of the Digital Trust Risk Assurance Program, PwC Australia



Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 5.19.01 PM

FAIR Business Innovator:

Roland Cloutier, SVP & CSO, ADP

Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 5.20.36 PM

FAIR Champion:

David Sheronas, SVP, Bank of America



Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 5.22.46 PM

FAIR Business Innovator:

Christopher Cooper, VP, Operational Risk, Reinsurance Group of America, Incorporated 

Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 5.24.21 PM

FAIR Champion:

Joel Baese, InfoSec Governance & Risk Analysis Director, Walmart

You can read more about the nomination criteria for both categories, last year's winners, and submit a nomination on the Awards and Nominations page. 

To be considered for this year's awards, nominations must be submitted by August 21, 2020. Winners are chosen by a Selection Committee made up of members from the FAIR Institute Board of Advisors.

Topics: FAIR Conference 2020

Luke Bader

Written by Luke Bader

Luke Bader is Director, Membership and Programs for FAIR Institute

Register Now for FAIRCON2020

Subscribe to Email Updates

Learn How FAIR Can Help You
Make Better Business Decisions

Recent Posts