Honoring Excellence in Information and Operational Risk Management: Submit Your Nominations for the FAIRCON19 Awards!

FAIR Awards 2019 copyThe 2019 FAIR Conference at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center in National Harbor near DC on September 24-25, will honor risk management leaders for their initiative, ingenuity and contributions to information and operational risk management.

These awards recognize the deep impact that these professionals have on their organizations by enabling operational excellence and effective decision-making, and in balancing the need to protect their organizations while running the business. All of the winners and nominees of the FAIR Awards are reflective of the importance of the FAIR Institute's mission in advancing the risk management profession and are individuals who are at the forefront of the quantitative risk management revolution. 

Three Award Categories

You can submit your nominations for three categories, Business InnovatorFAIR Champion, and FAIR Ambassador to recognize business-minded risk officers and FAIR practitioners respectively.

  • Innovative risk officers are disrupting the status quo by leveraging new analytic capabilities and by enabling the communication and management of information and operational risk from the business perspective. The Business Innovation award recognizes those risk professionals who have successfully applied FAIR principles to drive innovation
  • The FAIR Champion award recognizes leaders at the forefront of their organization’s FAIR initiative who built risk quantification programs, and in that process get data owners on board, stakeholders to help improve analysis, and decision-makers to adopt the resulting analytics as an integral part of their strategies, decision-making processes and operating rhythms.
  • The FAIR Ambassador Awardserves to recognize a specific member’s work in bringing FAIR and the FAIR Institute to a new part of the world. The winner of this award is an individual who has helped spread the knowledge of FAIR into a new city, state, country, or continent, at both governmental and enterprise level.

Past Award Winners


2018 FAIR Business Innovator

Omar Khawaja, CISO, Highmark Health


2018 FAIR Champion

Jack Freund, Director, Cyber Risk, TIAA


2018 FAIR Ambassador

Jason Ha, Director of the Digital Trust Risk Assurance Program, PwC Australia


2017 FAIR Business Innovator

Roland Cloutier, SVP & CSO, ADP


2017 FAIR Champion   

David Sheronas, SVP, Bank of America


2016 FAIR Business Innovator

Christopher Cooper, VP, Operational Risk, Reinsurance Group of America, Incorporated 


2016 FAIR Champion

Joel Baese, InfoSec Governance & Risk Analysis Director, Walmart


You can read more about the nomination criteria for both categories, last year's winners, and submit a nomination on the Awards and Nominations page. 

To be considered for this year's awards, nominations have to be submitted by July 26, 2019.

Learn How FAIR Can Help You Make Better Business Decisions

Order today
image 37